Sussex Open 2018 + The Eastbourne Arts Circle Commission Award

Towner Art Gallery’s annual open submission exhibition brings together the best artists from across East and West Sussex, from new talent to established figures. The 28 artists featured in this year’s exhibition have been selected to celebrate the wealth of diversity and talent in the region. The selection includes painting, sculpture, drawing, print, photography, film and installation.

For the first time, this year’s exhibition will also feature the winners of the Eastbourne Arts Circle Commission Award, a new funding award sponsored by Eastbourne Arts Circle with the aim of supporting the creation of new artwork.

The works in the exhibition, as well as the recipients of the Commission Award, have been selected by a panel made up of painter and printmaker Tom Hammick, the Curator of Fine Art at the Royal Pavilion & Museums in Brighton & Hove, Jenny Lund, and Towner Head of Exhibitions, Brian Cass.

Artists who have previously exhibited work in our Open exhibition have gone on to be selected for John Moore’s Painting Prize, the Jerwood Drawing Prize, the BFI Film Festival in the experimental film category and have been shortlisted for the Mark Tanner Sculpture Prize.

In order to support the career development of artists in this exhibition, all works are for sale.

Sussex Open 2018 Artists

Rachael Adams
Judith Alder
Ian Baker
Tom Banks
Sophie Barber
Colin Booth
Terrence Brett
Louise Bristow
Lewis Chamberlain
Nadine Feinson
Mary Anne Francis
Jackie Fretten
Fergus Heron
Jim Hobbs
Eden Kötting
Andrew Kötting
Nicholas Marsh
Rod Morris
Ian Parker
Rory Prout
Michelle Roberts
Wycliffe Stutchbury
Helen Turner
Alice Walter
Bert Wheeler
Jaf Yusuf

Recipients of the Eastbourne Arts Circle Commission Award

Sam Laughlin
James William Murray


Image: Rob Harris

What's On